What I Know about the Lagoon Field adjacent to Wilden Marsh Nature Reserve and SSSI

The Wilden Marsh Blog

The camera trap video below shows an otter on Hoo Brook bank, close to the McDonald’s fast food outlet and Lagoon Field.

For many years I have worked, wandered, and poked about on Wilden Marsh, looked in many nooks and crannies, and investigated nature in areas surrounding it. I’m a volunteer wildlife warden. I manage the on-site conservancy, facilitate and schedule volunteer workdays, plan how, where and when the cattle graze the marsh, and physically move and supervise them on the reserve and in the new WFDC’s Falling Sands Nature Area. There isn’t much happening on the marsh that I don’t know about, and there isn’t much fauna and flora that I haven’t seen or watched there at one time or another. So, I walk through and around the Lagoon Field boundaries frequently: seven days a week when the cattle are grazing the north marsh. I’ve seen it at its best and worst in the mornings, afternoons, evenings and at dead of night…

View original post 773 mots de plus

Laisser un commentaire

