Red Clover Wine

wildpickings

A number of people have asked me for a  recipe for red clover wine, so here it is.
As with most of my wine recipes, it is adapted from Roger Phillips « Wild Food » this is one of my all time favourite books on wild food and I thoroughly recommend it.

 

 

2 litres of red clover blossom – I pick them into a litre jug to measure them. Press down lightly & add more til you get the amount.

2 oranges

2 lemons

1 litre white grape juice

1kg caster sugar

wine yeast

Pick your blossoms when they are freshly opened, with no brown bits. You need to use them immediately or they will turn brown.  Scrupulously clean a bucket – I use sterilising powder. It will need to be large enough to hold a gallon of liquid ( I use a very large tupperware style 15 litre container…

View original post 337 mots de plus

Laisser un commentaire

